A milk and dairy free diet

What to avoid in a milk and dairy free diet and suggested alternatives.

Following a dairy free diet is more common that we would think.

What to avoid

Always read the labels on packaged items.

  • Cow's milk of any type, including whole, semi-skimmed, skimmed,dried, condensed, evaporated, etc. Goat's and Sheep's milk of any type, including whole, semi-skimmed, skimmed,dried, etc. Other dairy products: Butter, ghee, cream, cheese, , yoghurt
  • Whey (a milk protein) - you may find it in muesli cereals like granola or cereal clusters, butter substitute spreads, cakes or biscuits, some brands of tomato ketchup.
  • Caseinates (a milk protein) - you may find it in packet soups, dairy free coffee whitener, some sausages.
  • Lactose (a milk sugar) - you may find it in cakes or biscuits, butter substitute spreads, some pre-packed sliced ham and chicken, some deli meats.
  • Skimmed milk powder - sometimes it is used in some children's cereals, some deli meats, like sliced ham or chicken.
  • Batter made with milk, pancakes, crepes, Yorkshire pudding, chocolate and cocoa products, custards, milk puddings
  • Ice cream
  • Foods fried in butter
  • Malted milk, milkshakes, smoothies with a milk, ice cream, or yoghurt base
  • Coffee-mate
  • Creamed sauces and soups, white sauce
  • Ready-made pasta dishes - eg lasagne, pasta Alfredo, macaroni cheese
  • Pizza

Suggested Alternatives

Choose organic products wherever possible

  • Dairy-free coffee whitener (if not sensitive to caseinates and sugar)
  • Soya milk, rice milk, oat milk, nut milk - you can find them in most grocery and health shops
  • Coconut milk/cream
  • Vegetable margarines (check no milk solids/skimmed milk/whey) - e.g.. Soya or olive oil margarine, from Health Food shops and some supermarkets
  • Soya cheese, tofu (soya bean curd) - 9 varieties - Health Food Shops (some soya cheeses may contain sugar and yeast)
  • Soya yoghurt
  • Soya ice creams
  • If milk cheese is not tolerated, use cheese substitutes
  • Chocolate - Dairy-free, Carob
  • Biscuits - many biscuits are milk-free, i.e. contain vegetable not animal fat, e.g. some digestives, fig bars
  • Some Cereal Bars
  • Some creamed biscuits (check for whey, lactose and caseinates, if sensitive)